Legal Notices

Some Favorite Sites

Government/ Community Links

Become A “Friend”

Everything you read on is free—as it should be. Information and community debate need to be free. As a non-profit, independent news organization, we have no giant media conglomerate to fund all the work that goes into publishing this site.

Your financial support allows us to continue providing the in-depth local news coverage and community discussion you can’t find anywhere else. Please consider helping us keep it going by signing up as an Independent sustainer and contributing money to our operation.

Option 1: To become a sustainer make a contribution through your credit card. Your contribution is tax-deductible. Click on the buttons below to sign up! And become a “Friend of the New Haven Independent.”





Don't like Paypal?
Click here to donate through Press+

Option 2: Feeling generous? Become an Independent Angel. There are three levels of annual support qualifying supporters as Independent Angels:

Basic Angel: $250
Super Angel: $500
Ultra Angel: $1,000

To obtain your Angel wings, send a check made out to “Online Journalism Project” and mail it to New Haven Independent, c/o La Voz Hispana, 51 Elm St., 3rd floor, New Haven CT 06510. (Again, your contribution is tax-deductible.)

Option 3: To become a full-fledged site sponsor, with your name and a web link in the “sponsors” column on the right-hand side of each page, contact us .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address). The annual cost is $15,000.

Thank you for your support!

Also, please let us know if you’d like your name listed on the site as an “Independent Sustainer.” You deserve the credit!


NHI Ultra Angel

Deborah Rose
Carol Ross
Gabriella Stern
Sassafras Foundation
Atlantic Philanthropies
Claire & John Simon
William Curran
Roz & Jerry Meyer
Betsy Henley-Cohn
Scott Bass & Denise Swartz

NHI Super Angel

Helen Kauder
Beth Gilson
Steven B. and Susan Smith
Greg & Caitlin Behrman
David Rosen
Irmgard and Morris Wessel
Edward F. Cleary

NHI Angel

Tom & Linda Morrissey in memory of Robin Kroogman
One World Progressive Institute
Laura Berry
David Shaw/Mesothelioma
Herrick & Elaine N. Jackson
Christine Kim
Robert Gelbach
Ellen Andrews
Jeff Klaus
Troy & Zoe Resch
Gary Doyens
Terry Gilbertson
David & Shana Ross
Amy Kapczynski

Friends Of The New Haven Independent

Thomasine Shaw
Jaime Garcia
Edward Anderson
Alex Karman
Charles A. Pillsbury
Tom & Linda Morrissey
Frances Zankowski
Steven Berry
Genvieve Fleischman
Sean Duffy
Randall Beach
James Parker
Bjoern Bruegemann
Jane Tracy
Josiah Brown
Frances Clark
Jeffrey Kerekes
Stephanie Fitzgerald
Sara Warfield
Shannon Callaway
Pamela Knapp
Chris Willems
Joshua Foer
Aaron Bray
William Kurtz
Jennifer Just
Douglas Hausladen
Laura Goldblum
Tim Holahan
Rob N
Scott Hunter
Rob Oliver
Henry Chauncey
Paul Wessel
Raman Prasad
Josh Smith
Willis Jenkins
Ben Berkowitz
Dennis Riordan
John Fitzpatrick
Julie Cohen
Roland Lemar and Anika Singh Lemar
Shannon Callaway
Joshua Foer
Mark Oppenheimer
Beth Royer
Chrissy Bonanno
Jason Stockmann
Tim Tagaris
Duncan Goodall
Brett Hill
Matthew Feiner
Errol Saunders
Claire Morduch and Sheldon Toubman
John Blair
Mark Branch
Mark Abraham
James Farnam
Pericles Lewis
Petisia Adger
Claire Criscuolo
Stephen Kobasa
Steve and Rachel Wizner
Margaret M. Middleton
Bernard John and Katha M. Cox
Brett Orzechowski
Ethel Berger
Matthew Nemerson
Barbara O’Brien
Michael Brown
David Wison
Pat Dillon
Mark Firla
Steven Eppler-Epstein
Stefanie Lieberman
Lindy Lee Gold
Harvey, Ruth & Ben Koizim
Judith Malamut
Sheldon L. Altman
David Sepulveda
Donald E. Sackheim
Kathi Elick
Jonathan Hopkins
John Bullock
Bruce C. Johnson
Stephen H. Kovel
Jennifer Klein & Jim Berger
Edward & Alice Mattison
Karyn Gilvarg & Eric Epstein
Doug Hageman
Cynthia Cross
Kathleen Ramunni
S. Egan
Bob Pellegrino
Bernard Cox
Betsy Yagla
Pamela K. Sobering
Kathrin Lassila
Kit Snicket
Christiane Cunnar
Maureen Cunningham
Cynthia Cross
Andrew Metrick
Gemma Joseph Lumpkin
Michael Brown
Rosa Vieira de Almeida
James Yu
Michael Boyle
Susan Bradford
Netta Hadari
Darryl Brackeen
Melinda Papowitz
Stephanie Johnson
Willie Dow
Lloyd & Judith Buzzell
Robert Ellickson
Wick Chambers
Chris Willems
Paul Sabin
Beth Klingher
Sarah Forman
Josh Levinson
Floyd Drake III
Joshua Motelow
Sally Fleming
Rebecca Borne and Liam Brennan
Nathaniel Ellis
Valerie Richardson
Robin & Barb Levine-Ritterman
Amy Marx & Robert Schonberger
Susan Papa
Aaron Goode
Ethel Berger
Sandra Resnick
Maureen Burke
Arnold Gorlick
Meredith Startz
David Goldblum
Rachel Heerema
Cathie Miller
Daniel Keniston
Lesley Frame
Patricia Hagan
Berclee Cameron
Linn Tonstad
William Nardini
Scott Gaul
Karen Nakamura
Lynn Street
Amy Wrzesniewski Law
Marc Wortman
Judith and Ron Tierney
Ilya Prizel
Steve Hamm
Andy Orefice
Mark Aronson
Jenny Medina-Morris
Alina Badus
Jeanette G. Glicksman & Laurence C. Grotheer
Sally Connolly
Molly Wheeler and Billy Bromage
Dan Oren

Friends Of The Valley Independent Sentinel

Noreen DeCiucis
Darlene L. Zawisza
Ronald Skurat
Marion Marchetto
Nancy Bauer
Cynthia Fazekas
George Sheehy
Savvas Schinis

The Branford Eagle Supporters

Warren Gould
Beverly and Marvin Zimmerman
Gil Kelman
Richard P. Shanahan
Priscilla and William Kissick
Erin McBurney
Gail Brekke
Bill Tower
Wendell Bell
Virginia Shaw
Marie & Dennis Kelly
Pamela Knapp

Events Calendar


SeeClickFix »

Policing Issue
Apr 27, 2015 5:17 pm
Address: 20 Court Street New Haven, CT 06511, USA
Rating: 1

US Mail truck speeding the WRONG WAY down Court St., from Olive to Academy, appx. 5:10...

more »
Traffic/Road Safety
Apr 27, 2015 4:55 pm
Address: Ella T Grasso Boulevard New Haven, Connecticut
Rating: 6

Possibly the worst Connecticut Department of "Transportation" blunder ever? The...

more »

PosterWallAdd your Poster


N.H.I. Site Design & Development

smartpill design