Artist Fellowships Awarded

by David Brensilver | May 17, 2012 8:33 am

Commenting has expired | E-mail the Author

The Connecticut Office of the Arts has announced the recipients of this year’s Artist Fellowship Awards. According to the COA’s website, “Grants in the amounts of $5,000 and $2,500 were awarded in the categories of craft, new media, painting, photography, sculpture/installation and works on paper. The single review criterion was artistic merit.”

Nearly half of the 46 awardees are residents of the Greater New Haven area.

Branford resident Jennifer Davies received a $5,000 Artist Fellowship Award in the craft category. In the new media category, Hamden resident Kim Mikenis received a $5,000 Artist Fellowship Award and New Haven resident Gabriella Svenningson Omonte won a $2,500 grant. New Haven painters Jaclyn Conley and Zachary Keeting won $5,000 grants, while Adam Bernard and Perry Obee, of Branford and New Haven, respectively, received $2,500 Artist Fellowship Awards. In the photography category, Jared Torello, of North Haven, and New Haven residents Jan Cunningham, Andrew Hogan, Linda Lindroth, and Meredith Miller won $2,500 grants. Hamden resident Suzan Shutan won a $5,000 Artist Fellowship Award in the sculpture/installation category, in which $2,500 grants were awarded to New Haven residents Jonathan Brand, Susan McCaslin, and Noel Sardalla, West Haven resident Jeff Slomba, and Milford resident Crystal Heiden. Geoffrey Detrani and Joseph Smolinski, of Hamden and New Haven, respectively, received $2,500 awards in the works-on-paper category.

The COA’s website indicates that “panels of experts in their respective fields reviewed the works of 331 applicants.”

Click here to learn more about the state’s Artist Fellowship Program and past award winners.

Share this story with others.

Share |

Post a Comment


There were no comments


N.H.I. Site Design & Development

smartpill design